Governor Phil Bryant declares September 27, 2018 Paralegal Day in Mississippi.


Past Award Winners:


MPA Paralegal Of The Year Award

MPA is proud to offer its members a Paralegal of the Year Award. This award is designed to encourage and recognize outstanding contributions to the legal assistant / paralegal profession by individuals whose leadership and dedication has had an extraordinary and positive impact within the legal community. The MPA Officers will judge the nominations. (MPAOfficers are not eligible for nomination. ) The award will be announced at MPA’s Annual Meeting in October.


  • All nominees must have a minimum of three years experience as a paralegal / legal assistant.
  • All nominees must be current MPA members in good standing.
  • All nominees must be nominated by another person. No self-nominations. The nominator can be a paralegal manager, supervising attorney, client, co-worker, or a MPA member.
  • All nominators must submit a statement (400 words or less, typed) outlining the paralegal’s accomplishments, including how he or she has taken initiative to go beyond typical job duties, as well as outside contributions the paralegal has made to the paralegal profession as a whole. (Specific examples and activities should be included. )
  • Multiple nominations may be submitted. However, a different person must complete and sign each nomination with an accompanying statement meeting the above requirements.

Nomination Form for MPA Paralegal of the Year
To submit your nominee for the MPA Paralegal of the Year, please complete and
mail in the .

Mississippi Paralegal Association Pro Bono Award

Nomination Form

MPA is proud to offer to its members a Pro Bono Award. The site offers a free option that is a great way to try out the site, and for just $39/year you are granted the ability to upgrade from 2 live galleries at a time to an unlimited amount of live galleries. In order to promote an awareness of pro bono activities and to encourage MPA members to volunteer their time and specialty skills to pro bono projects within the community, MPA wishes to recognize a legal assistant member who demonstrates exceptional dedication to pro bono service. We hope to encourage all members to foster the development of pro bono projects and to provide assistance to established pro bono programs. The following are just a few organizations in which a member can offer his/her assistance:

Mississippi Volunteer Lawyer’s Project: Assist Mississippi Bar members in their efforts to help the indigent on a pro bono basis. 601-948-4471

Mississippi Legal Services: Assist people with legal needs. There are several offices located around the State.

Court Appointed Special Advocate: Serve the needs of neglected and abused children. Information for becoming a Hinds County CASA is available at 601-371-0451.

Stewpot Community Services: Located in downtown Jackson, the Stewpot helps the needy by providing meals, clothing, etc. MALA supports the Stewpot by serving lunch every other month.

Womens’ Shelters: Provide for needy women and children by supplying them with personal care items, etc. MALA is currently supporting the Women’s Shelter in Mendenhall.

Other Organizations: Volunteer in organizations such as the American Heart Association, Make-A-Wish Foundation, the American Cancer Society, Blair E. Batson Children=s Hospital, etc.

This annual award will go to a MPA member in good standing who has volunteered his or her time and special skills in providing uncompensated services in pro bono assistance to their community. The winner of the award will be announced at the Annual Membership Meeting in October, and a profile of the individual will be published in The Assistant.

Please complete the following nomination form, and return it to:
MPA Pro Bono Committee Chairperson
Post Office Box 996
Jackson, Mississippi 39205

Or click here fill out our new online form

MPA’s Student Essay Contest

for the student essay contest rules)
(Click below to view the essays as a pdf)

– William Cody Ray, Holmes Community College
– Veleanor Ballard, Holmes Community College
– Jerrilynn Atherton, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

– Kelcey Nelson, University of Southern Mississippi
– Courtney Powell, University of Southern Mississippi
– Dionne Grant, University of Southern Mississippi

– Shelley Herrington, University of Southern Mississippi
– Kristie B. Droge, Holmes Community College
– Kimberly Pemment, University of Southern Mississippi

- Rachel Henderson (Holmes Community College)
– Manisha Chatlani (Holmes Community College)
– Meagan Higbee ( Holmes Community College) 


Comments are closed.

  • Latest Products

  • Login

  • Events Calendar

    September  2018
    Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    9 10 11 12 13 14 15
    16 17 18 19 20 21 22
    23 24 25 26 27 28 29